UK Anime Network, UK Anime News, Reviews and Articles
Manga Reviews
Tsubasa Chronicle 4-6

Tsubasa Chronicle 4-6

Written by Ross Locksley on 04 Oct 2006

Distributor Tanoshimi • Author/Artist Clamp • Price £5.99

3 more volumes of Tsubasa, and after the excellent start I was certainly ready for more.

With volume 4 wrapping up the tail end of preceding events, the group are trasnported to a creepy, Sleepy-Hollow-esque adventure, with ghosts and missing children to contend with. It's also interesting to learn that Sakura's memories can travel through time as well as dimensions, with some feathers having existed for hundreds of years in some worlds, and mere moments in others, opening up a wealth of storytelling possibilities.

Volumes 4 and 5 begin a longer arc, with the group transported to a world where everyone has a job - magician Fai decides to run a cafe, whilst Syaoran and Kurogane become Oni (demon) hunters. It's nice to see some more X characters appear, in this instance Yuzuriha Nekoi and Shiyu Kusanagi, another couple seperated in their original universe, but brought together as a couple for Tsubasa.

As a whole, these volumes reveal some interesting insights into the characters, and we learn more about Sakura and Syaoran through a lengthy and touching flashback sequence, which really hammers home the sacrifice made by Syaoran to restore the memory of a girl who is destined never to remember him.

I understand that Tsubasa has a very long run, and I can understand why given the amount of open-ended storytelling possibilities are available thanks to the premise, and so far there's no sign of running out of steam!

One of my favourite Tanoshimi ttles, still on top form.

Ross Locksley
About Ross Locksley

Ross founded the UK Anime Network waaay back in 1995 and works in and around the anime world in his spare time.


posted by C. C. Cooper on 10 Jun 2021

posted by C. C. Cooper on 21 May 2021

posted by C. C. Cooper on 14 Apr 2021

posted by Ross Locksley on 11 Apr 2021

posted by C. C. Cooper on 25 Mar 2021

posted by Ross Locksley on 23 Mar 2021

posted by C. C. Cooper on 09 Mar 2021

posted by Ross Locksley on 01 Mar 2021